If you are visiting Florida for the first time and you plan on renting a car, it is important that you first read and understand Florida car rental laws so that you won’t be going against the law. The truth is that ignorance of the law is not an excuse and when you break the law, you will face the consequences.
When hiring a car, you’ll typically need your driver’s license, credit card, and passport. The age requirement to rent a vehicle is 21. Keep in mind, though, that certain automobile rental companies will charge more for drivers under the age of 25.
Here are the Most Important Florida Car Rental Laws That You Must Know
- You must be 25 years old to rent a car in Florida; if you are younger, you may have to pay a young driver’s fee, which varies by rental facility. You need to have a legitimate driver’s license with a picture, a document with a photo, such as a passport or a driver’s license a debit or credit card (check the acceptable forms of payment at the location you are renting from).
- Please note that in Florida, an international driver’s license (might not apply to driver’s licenses that are in the Latin alphabet).
- To rent a car in Florida, you must have a minimum of 2 years of driving experience.
- You must drive on the right side of the road at all times in Florida. The marked legal speed limits are on the right side for your reference as you drive. When the light turns red, you can stop your automobile and turn right. However, you cannot turn right if there is a “no right on red” sign at the intersection.
- In Florida, you must always have your car’s headlights on from dusk until morning, as well as when it is raining or foggy outside. When stopped at toll booths, make sure the wipers are not on. Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both are prohibited in Florida. If you get intoxicated, make sure you have a sober, licensed driver.
- In Florida, it is also illegal to text while driving your car, irrespective of your age. There are no talking restrictions, but you can make calls using a hands-free device.
- Before 2013, Florida driving laws allowed foreign tourists to drive with their licenses from home. However, this changed in 2013 when state officials overturned this permission.
- You may utilize your learner’s license or permission from another state as long as you follow Florida’s learner’s permit requirements. You may only drive during the day if your learner’s permit is less than three months old. You are required to drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the front passenger seat.
- In most cases in Florida, car rental businesses are not liable for accident-related losses. They won’t be held responsible for the harm done to other cars in addition to not being held accountable for harm done to their own rental car.
- Florida mandates that car rental agencies have insurance on their fleet. There is, however, no matching law that requires the purchase of supplementary insurance.
Table of Contents
Seat Belt Requirements in Florida
In Florida and throughout the United States, driving laws require the use of seat belts. Use of a kid car seat is required for children who are under 40 pounds or four years old. Make sure to ask your car rental provider about the seat.
Please be aware that even if your car contains airbags, everyone in the front seat must wear a seat belt. Additionally, it is against the law to drive in Florida if any passengers are under the age of 18 and without buckling up. Furthermore, they must buckle up when using the front passenger seat.
Mileage Policy in Florida
The maximum allowable distance you are allowed to drive with a rental automobile per day (or occasionally per week) is specified in the mileage policy of the rental company. You will be charged an extra cost for each mile you drive once you drive farther than the allowed limit. Additionally, there may be a mileage cap for the entire rental duration.
Mileage restrictions are subject to change across rental car companies. It’s crucial to be aware of them prior to renting a car, especially if you want to drive frequently or cover significant distances.
Remember that many rental agencies limit the permitted mileage for Florida residents.
Car Rental Fuel Policy in Florida
In Florida, when it comes to fuel, many automobiles rental agencies have varied policies. Among the most popular ones are:
You are expected to return the car with a full tank of fuel because you collected it with a full tank.
You are supposed to return the car with the same amount of fuel after being handed it.
When renting a car, you pay in advance for a full tank of gas and are permitted to return the vehicle with an empty tank; in these circumstances, you may or may not be reimbursed if you return a vehicle with some petrol still in the tank.
Before leaving your native country or state, it is vital to familiarize yourself with these driving laws and regulations in Florida. Additionally, try to make your car arrangements online or over the phone before your trip. Also, ask the car rental company how they manage tolls, particularly on all-electronic tolling routes.
The TOLL-BY-PLATE electronic collection system is available with most large providers, and charges are made to the credit card used to rent the vehicle.
Make sure you have the essential maps or GPS devices, as well as all the emergency phone numbers. Florida 511 can be used to examine traffic cameras or find out the level of traffic on specific roadways. You can also call 511 to learn about the current traffic situation.