Florida Beverage Laws do not support the mobile sale of alcohol or any other related liquor. It simply means that no license is obtainable in Florida that grants the licensee the right to supply alcohol, wine, or liquor to the general public, be it in sealed containers or sold by the drink, from non-fixed spots on either public or private property.
In Florida, trying to sell alcoholic beverages without so much as a license is a criminal offense. The Florida Beverage Laws (Florida Statutes Chapters 561-565) state unequivocally that no individual or business may supply alcoholic beverages without a license.
According to Florida Beverage Regulatory requirements, the grounds must be appropriate for alcohol sales and must comply with local zoning ordinances. In addition, the licensee must demonstrate that it exercises total control over the licensed premises, at least while alcohol is being sold and imbibed.
It simply implies that the licensee needs to own the site, have a tenancy agreement on the premises, or have a different contract that gives the licensee oversight over all alcohol sales and intake on the site. Keep in mind that Florida Beverage Laws will only consider giving the license to sell alcohol to persons who can oversee its intake in a specific place and if local ordinances permit the sale of alcohol within the location.
Florida Beverage Laws do not forbid leasing a truck, trailer, or standing bar for the purpose of a private party at a hosted occasion, but once it comes to selling alcohol in the sunshine state, location is everything. If a food truck business sells liquor in locations where alcohol sales are not permitted, it is a punishable offense.
Types of Liquor License in Florida for Food Truck Businesses
There are a few licenses that let food truck operators sell alcohol, they include;
Table of Contents
Alcohol Catering (13CT)
Licensed food caterers can obtain an alcohol beverage catering license (13CT), which enables them to stock and serve alcoholic beverages at events in addition to food catering.
- Just food caterers certified by the Florida Division of Hotels and Restaurants are eligible for the 13CT license.
- Each catered event must generate at least 51% of a 13CT caterer’s gross food and beverage revenue from the sale of food and nonalcoholic beverages.
- Alcoholic beverages not consumed at a catered event must always be brought back to the vendor or left with the 13CT caterer’s customer.
- $450 – $1,860
Quota License Holders (QUOTA)
These licenses are applicable to the county’s statutory population restrictions on the issuance of new licenses and are limited in quantity.
Aside from entering for the draw, you can also consider purchasing one from an existing owner in the marketplace. The price will vary according to demand. After purchasing a license, you can apply to the state of Florida for a transfer of ownership.
According to Florida Statutes section 561.19, licenses are only obtainable via lottery because of the rise in county population.
- The application fee for quota licenses is $100 per application.
Public Fair (FEX)
Only accessible to formal public fairs and exhibitions in conjunction with fairgrounds events. These permits are issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS).
- With your permit application, you must include all the information required by law.
- Applications will have to be submitted three months before the event.
- The cost will vary based on your preferences and location.
Mobile Vehicles (X)
This license only allows the holder to serve alcoholic beverages to passengers in a mobile vehicle.
- Mobile vehicles must engage in interstate commerce or travel between fixed terminals on a regular basis.
- From $26 – $400 depending on the location
Steps to Obtain a Liquor License in Florida for a Food Truck
You must be fully licensed to sell alcoholic beverages as part of your services. The steps to obtain a liquor license in Florida include;
Choose the Correct License Type
As previously stated, there are numerous liquor licenses available if you actually plan to offer liquor as part of your food truck business. The state issues all these licenses, and each one is unique. If you don’t get the right one, you might not be capable of serving the beverages you want.
Organize The Necessary Documents
In addition to the application form, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation necessitates numerous data that must be included in the application form. Make sure you have the following items fully prepared for submission:
- If applicable, mitigation of moral character
- Department of Revenue clearance
- If applicable, Certificate of Status/Secretary of State
- Social Security Number
- Right of Occupancy
- Arrest disposition
- Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- Receipt of fingerprints
Submit The Application For A Liquor License
To acquire your permit, you must fill out form DBPR ABT-6011. After you’ve completed the form, you must submit it in one of three ways:
- Hand-delivering it to the office
- Simply send it by mail to the office
Regrettably, there really is no online submission option at this period. The form must be printed.
Pay Necessary Fees
Permits are issued at a cost by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Howbeit, individuals have a wide range of options for how much they want to pay. The fee for a temporary license is $455.00. The permanent license fee is $1820.
As previously stated, Florida Beverage Laws do not permit mobile sales of alcohol or other related liquor. It simply means that no license in Florida is available that allows the licensee to sell alcohol, wine, or liquor to the general public.
However, licensing issues can become complex and difficult, particularly if you are new to the industry or trying to apply for the first time. Consider consulting an experienced lawyer to assist you in obtaining the documentation required to start serving alcoholic beverages.