To begin, it is important to note that there is no such thing as a Florida Jet Ski license; rather, if you want to rent a jet ski for an entire day, you must possess a boating license.

When you get your boating license, you’ll discover essential topics including how to handle the vessel, appropriate protocol for using a vessel, what to do during a boating emergency, and the relevant laws of boating. This will be useful not only during your jet skiing outing but also for future water sports or water vessel activities.

A license is a critical component that helps to keep everybody alive as well as inform individuals who will be running such vessels. Nevertheless, if you believe that procuring a boating license is way over the top and you recall a previous expedition where you were not mandated to procure a boating license, it is critical to remember that there exist state differences.

Different states have varying regulations governing water vessels and water sports. In California, for example, no boating permit is needed to cruise a jet ski. In the state of Florida, meanwhile, boating licenses are needed to handle a Jet Ski. Your boating license may actually be useful another day if you want to use a water vessel or cruise jet skis once more.

Cost of Obtaining a Jet Ski License in Florida

The overall cost is $9.99. Note that this incorporates the examination fee of $3.00 as well as access to study resources and infinite standardized test tries for $6.99. The state of Florida also provides an online exam with little or no information relating to study materials.

The total expense is $8.00. This encompasses a $3.00 examination fee and a $5.00 service charge. If you select the exam-only alternative and perform badly, you must re-register and foot the bill to retake the assessment test.

Requirements for Obtaining a Jet Ski License in Florida

Jet Ski licenses are not required in Florida, but instead successful execution of an authorized boater safety course. The course concludes with the issuance of a boating safety education card, which serves as a boating license.

If you choose to enroll in the course, ensure to come with your ID or driver’s license as they will want to authenticate your age and also assess you for any signs of alcohol consumption, underage drinking, or anything else that would invalidate your license.

After passing and paying for the education platform, you will be issued a Temporary Boating Certificate. This is your certificate of approval for the lesson plan. This license officially ends 90 days after the course has been completed.

How to Get a Jet Ski License in Florida

Even if you intend to enter Florida for a weekend getaway, you must procure a temporary boating safety certification. The steps for getting your Florida boating license include;

  1. Identify What You Need

While it is commonly referred to as a boating license, what you actually require is a Boater Education Card. This card is required for anyone born after January 1, 1988, who wishes to handle a boat. If you had been born before 1988, you should still get the Boater Education Card, but it is not considered necessary.

Furthermore, even if you obtain the Boater Education Card, you will be unable to handle a boat or other type of personal vessel if you are younger than the age of 14. It’s also worth noting that the Boater Card is governed by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

  1. Take a Boater Education Class

To obtain your Boater Education Card in Florida, you will first have to wrap up an authorized boater education program. The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission should first authorize the course. You can also take an accredited equivalency exam.

The boater education training will show everything regarding boat operation and management, as well as Florida’s statutory obligations for boating. You will also learn about boating emergency situations. In Florida, you can carry out the boater education course in a number of ways:

  • Choose from 12 online courses endorsed by the FWC.
  • Choose from accredited classroom alternatives provided by the United States Power Squadron or the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, along with a variety of online alternatives.
  • Consider taking the home study course offered by the United States Power Squadrons or the FWC.

When you pick the classroom mode, you must join one eight-hour session or 12 evening sessions. The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary cost $50 for the lesson. Many organizations will offer free course materials to the few who choose the home study program.

Many require a down payment, and the classes can last 8 hours. To pass a boater education course, you must take an exam and get at least 80% of the answers correct. If you pass, you will be issued a temporary card while you await your Boater Education Card.

  1. Submitting Your Information

After successfully completing the course, you must submit the completion certificate as well as your name, address, mobile number, and birth date.

It should be mailed to the Division of Law Enforcement, Boating Safety Section, 620 South Meridian Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399. Your Boater Education Card would not have to be renewed. If you should ever need to have a replacement card, simply submit the very same details from Step 3 to the same location.

Conclusion

Jet Ski licenses are not required in Florida, but instead the successful execution of an authorized boater safety course. The course concludes with the issuance of a boating safety education card, which serves as a boating license. Keep in mind that if you already have similar boating safety qualifications from your state of residence, these could typically be used as evidence of safety.