No, minors cannot get a work permit in the state of Florida. This is so because Florida does not provide work permits or working documents to minors, and neither do schools or government organizations.
Please note that minors must obtain a work permit waiver in Florida before they can lawfully work there. A waiver is a request made by a juvenile to be excluded from certain provisions of the Child Labor Law if they believe that doing so would not be against their best interests or that their current situation makes it necessary for them to work.
How to Apply for Waiver for Minors in Florida
- Minors can request for waivers through the Child Labor Program or their public high school.
- Fill out the form accurately
- Submit all the required supporting documents.
The Hours Minors Are Legally Permitted To Work In Florida When School Is In Session And When School Is Not In Session
When public school is in session, 14 and 15-year-olds in Florida are permitted to work up to 15 hours a week (seven-day period). This includes no more than three hours a day during school hours, up to eight hours per day on weekends, eight hours on holidays, and eight hours on days when there is no school.
They are permitted to work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., but not while school is in session. Minors who are 14 and 15 may work up to eight hours per day and 40 hours per week between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. when school is not in session, which is from June 1 through Labor Day.
Minors who are 16 and 17 may not work during the hours that school is in session, before 6:30 a.m., after 11 p.m., for more than 8 hours a day, or when school is scheduled the following day. These time restrictions are not in effect during non-school weeks, non-school days, or summer vacations when a school day is not immediately following.
But minors who are 16 and 17 are allowed to work until the end of their shift on days when school is not in session, such as Friday, Saturday, and other days before a holiday. For Example, the shift for a minor starts on Saturday at 6:00 p.m. and finishes at 1:00 a.m. on Sunday.
Because the minor is finishing his Saturday duty and not starting a work shift before 6:30 a.m. on Sunday, this is not seen as a breach of the rule that minors may not work before 6:30 a.m. when school is planned the following day. Please note that when school is in session, 16- and 17-year-old teenagers may not work more than 30 hours per week. However, kids are permitted to work a limitless number of hours over the summer and other non-school weeks.
What is the Legal Age for a Minor to Work in Florida?
To work in Florida, a minor must be 14 years old. Children who work in a non-hazardous job for a parent’s company are exempt, as are newspaper delivery (10 years old), pages in the Florida Legislature, and juveniles who have been given permission to work in the entertainment industry.
Here are a Few Common Florida Work Exemptions
If a minor is married, has completed high school or has earned a high school equivalency diploma, served in the military, was given permission by a court order, or received a partial waiver from a public school or the Child Labor Program, they are free from the Child Labor Law’s hour restrictions.