The Fair Labor Standards Act outlines labor laws when it comes to tipped employees, such as bartenders or valets who accept support from happy clients. According to the Fair Labor Standards Act, tipped employees are those who earn upwards of $30 in tips on a recurring basis.
Note that tips are deemed to be the primary asset of the tipped employee; however, tip pooling is still very much allowed. In the sunshine state, tipped employees are considered as employees who receive more compensation from tips than they do from hourly earnings.
This can more or less include wait staff, bartenders, and cleaning personnel. According to the pooling laws for tips in Florida, their employers are mandated to pay them the bare minimum and give room for them to cover the gap with merited tips.
A tip is a money paid to an employee by a client in addition to the actual cost of the services delivered. Tipping is entirely optional; almost all the time, the customer determines the precise amount to tip depending on the services received and who receives the tip.
Employers are not permitted to establish a minimum tip value that a customer should leave. It is crucial to comprehend your legal rights as a tipped employee, and in order to fully understand your legal rights, here are some important labor laws in Florida pertaining to tipped employees.
Most Important Florida Labor Laws Regarding Tipped Employees
Table of Contents
Legal Overtime and Minimum Wage
In the Sunshine State, an employer is mandated by law to pay the legitimate minimum and overtime wage to tipped employees notwithstanding the amount or how much more the worker takes home from what they got as tips.
For instance, when working in a service role in a large pizzeria, you could garner a couple of hundred dollars in tips per shift, so far above minimum wage. However, note that you will still be owed hourly pay irrespective of the number of tips you earn.
Owner of Employee Tip Money
In the Sunshine State, an employer has no right to demand an employee’s tip money for any justification. Employees retain ownership of their tips. An employer of labor in Florida is permitted to measure tips and implement “tip credit” to counterbalance the minimum wage mandate, but the employer is not in any way permitted to take money “for the house” from the tips.
Since a tipped employee is allowed to earn an $8.25 hourly rate in Florida, their tip credit should never surpass the $3.02 hourly rate. This is the distinction between the “tipped minimum wage” ($5.23) and the standard minimum wage in Florida.
Tips that Count
Note that only the tip that an employee receives can be applied to the employer’s tip credit. An employee’s tip credit also isn’t expected to surpass the number of tips received by the employee. For instance, an employer has no legal justification to estimate the tips you get weekly when evaluating your pay.
Tip Pool or Other Tip-sharing Arrangement
In Florida, a “tip pool” or other tip-sharing arrangement is considered legal on a relatively small scale. Note that it is perfectly lawful for an employer to ask that a tipped employee donate some parts or the whole of their tips to where other employees keep their tips, with really no optimum (or threshold) limits.
Nonetheless, your employer can’t mandate you to share your tips with employees who would not ideally collect tips, such as a dishwasher or cook. Howbeit, table buzzers, counter workers, wait staff, and bar staff would all be included in a fast food common purse where tips are kept.
It is important to point out that in Florida, a service charge doesn’t pass for a tip. There are times when huge parties are charged a mandatory 18 percent “gratuity” by restaurants and fast food establishments; however, this payment doesn’t in any way represent a tip for good service.
Credit Card Tips
Have it in mind that an employer cannot hold back credit card tips unless the money has arrived from the credit card company. In Florida, a tipped employee will need to be paid for these tips on their regular payday. Owing to this, the restaurant will have to be paid a portion of its proceeds in credit card charges.
There have been reports of tipped employees working non-tipped duties for a portion of their shift, even sometimes within the same shift. For example, a bartender could also spend time making coffee, stacking napkins, and answering the phone.
It is worth noting that the FLSA gives room for employees to claim a tip credit for hours spent on these kinds of tasks even when they do not straightforwardly garner tips. At that point, the employee is now considered to be working in a tipped occupation.
However, employers are not permitted to use the tip credit if the tipped employee devotes more than 20% of their time conducting necessary tasks that do not yield tips.
Employers in Florida are required to supply tipped employees with either oral or written memos regarding the regulations stated above. Tipped employees will need to fully comprehend their position as a worker that receive tips, their wage hourly rate, and the portion of their income that will be claimed as a tip credit.
It should be noted that when an employer of labor fails to give tipped employees official notice, the company cannot use the tip credit allowance and therefore must pay the worker the complete and normal minimum wage. All the tips collected would be part of the base wage.