Florida labor laws guarantee that workers receive what is entitled to them and it equally safeguards workers from unlawful behaviors such as bullying. They are indeed extensive, encompassing both states as well as federal statutes including the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

According to Florida (FL) labor laws, a legitimate day is 10 hours for individuals who conduct work by the day, week, or year. If an employee works upwards of 10 hours, they should always be compensated.

Overtime pay is due for hours worked in excess of 40 per week. According to Florida (FL) labor laws, a typical work week for Florida workers is seven consecutive 24-hour days. Overtime pay is half of the normal wage rate. Employers in Florida (FL) are not obligated to provide break times to employees over the age of 18.

Any breaks of 20 minutes or even less are usually paid breaks. Individuals under the age of 18 are entitled to a 30-minute lunch break in which they aren’t obligated to work. This must also be done every four hours. Other things to understand regarding Florida labor law would be that the guidelines for “exempt” and “non-exempt” hourly workers operating on consecutive days are separate.

Most Important Florida Labor Laws Regarding Consecutive Work Days

  1. Consecutive Work Days

Even though the FLSA somehow doesn’t explicitly state the maximum amount of hours that an adult non-exempt worker might be obligated to work in a specified week, it indeed does stipulate a benchmark for overtime pay.

A non-exempt employee has the right to overtime pay after 40 hours worked in a work week, which is usually 12 times the worker’s base pay. This is exclusively based on the number of hours worked in a seven-day period and has nothing to do with the number of consecutive days worked.

  1. Overtime Laws

The FLSA is a federal law that serves to protect state workers from extra hours. There seem to be no regulations in Florida labor statutes that confront this aspect of a worker’s privileges for salaried, hourly, or part-time employees.

  • Salaried: The FLSA exempts some workers, such as those in managerial roles (executives, administrators, other professionals, as well as computer science workers). Note that if you are considered a salaried worker in the sunshine state and do not work within one of these roles, then you might well be considered non-exempt and able to qualify for overtime.
  • Hourly: Hourly workers in the sunshine state are entitled to time and a half remuneration for every working hour over 40 in a workweek. For instance, if your hourly wage is $10.00 and you operate 50 hours in a given workweek, you must be paid $10.00 x 1.5 = $15.00/hour for the additional ten hours.
  • Part-Time: Part-time workers are rarely given that many hours to be able to qualify for overtime pay. If this occurs, your company is required by law to compensate you for every hour you work in excess of 40 in a given week under the FLSA.
  1. Sick Leave in the Workplace

Please remember that under relevant labor laws, business owners in the state really aren’t required to provide sick leave, but they may do so if they so desire. Businesses in the state are frequently urged to offer a certain form of sick leave for full-time workers.

Even if a company cannot provide paid sick leave, a worker has the right under federal law to unpaid time off to take care of private or family chronic conditions as well as similar matters. If a company provides workers with unpaid or paid sick leave, they must adhere to the principles highlighted in the employment agreement or sick leave policy.

  1. Florida Break Laws

Just as was noted above, there are no labor laws in Florida that require adult employees to take meal breaks. As a result, businesses in Florida are not mandated by federal law to provide break times to their staff members even during workdays. Nonetheless, everything comes down to a common ground between the company and staff members.

As such, if a staff member is given a 5- to 20-minute break, it is deemed compensatory time. Meal breaks of at least 30 minutes are not deemed work hours and thus are not eligible for compensation. But on the other side, if a staff gets to eat at work (for example, a helpline worker), that time is deemed compensable.

  1. Florida’s Child Labor Laws

Florida’s child labor laws guarantee that underage people work in an atmosphere that is not hazardous to their physical, psychological, or moral well-being. Howbeit, in contrast to some states, including Alabama, Florida does not mandate minors to acquire work permits or employment papers from educational establishments or government entities in order to work.

Whenever it relates to child labor, Florida would control matters such as work time, breaks, and so on. When education institutions are in session, underage people must:

  • Operate for up to three hours.
  • On a non-school day, you may operate for up to 8 hours.
  • Weekly duty hours can come up to as much as fifteen hours.
  • Operate up to six consecutive days a week.
  • Work is not permitted until 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m., but it is permitted throughout public school hours.

Once public schools are closed (June 1st through Labor Day), the following options are available to underage people between 14 and 15:

  • Workdays can last up to 8 hours.
  • Weekly duty hours of up to 40 hours.
  • Operate up to six consecutive days per week.
  • Every day, no work prior to 7 a.m. or even after 9 p.m.

Once academic institutions are in session, underage people must:

  • On a school day, not work prior to 6:30 a.m. or after 11 p.m.
  • If school is set to take place the very next day, you may operate up to 8 hours per day (no work during school hours).
  • Operate up to six consecutive days per week.
  • Weekly duty hours of up to thirty hours.

When academic institutions are not in session, the following options are available to underage people:

  • Underage people might very well operate until the end of their shift throughout non-school weeks, since no school day follows, or even during summer vacation.
  • Operate up to six consecutive days per week.
  • There are no time constraints during this period.
  • Florida underage people are excluded from time constraints.

Underage people are excluded from hour restrictions in the following circumstances:

  • When they are enlisted in a school-to-work scheme, professional education, or something comparable.
  • If the public school or the Child Labor Program has granted them a provisional waiver.
  • If they were married.
  • If they have a high school diploma or have finished from a certified high school.
  • If they have military experience.
  • If a judge’s order has permitted them.